Who is Driving ~ A Poem 

for the life of me
I can’t figure out if the person
who’s driving me
is a literal
or figurative
woman
 
Is she encased in ice?
a mummy?
Or is she alive,
heart beating and loving?
 
I know that
both
a dead 
and live woman
reside inside
 
When I am still 
I can sense
which one is driving

A ride with a cadaver
can be a heady experience
though I’d prefer a ride
with a living me

I’m going to love them both –
these two who
grace my bones
and allow me to 
interpret their secrets
and tell their stories

Leave a Reply

