It’s My Anniversary

I had been blocking this anniversary out of my mind so I would not have to face the idea that I’ve been doing this jig for 22 years already. It was not in my radar; I didn’t see it coming. Yesterday morning I slept in and was feeling so, so lousy (emotionally, that is). I didn’t want to face the day and let my mind wander and feelings loose. I came to this conclusion below – wrote it out in the form of a song/poem and then … yesterday afternoon my husband reminds me that it’s our anniversary. He set aside an hour for me and would I be interested?

Ahhh. Life’s too interesting.

So here’s my new decision:

I’m Gonna Stay

I’ve had mind to bow
and mind to bolt
I’ve had mind
to leave you
in my revolt

I’ve had time to think
and time to rest
and I’ve had the time to tame
the tempest

I have my mind
made up now

I’m gonna stay
with you
I’m gonna stay

I’m gonna stay
with you
I’m gonna stay

I’ll mind my own store
while I’m waiting for you
I’ll keep myself busy and happy too

I could wait. I could wait a bit longer.

I’ve had mind to run
I’ve had mind to dart
I’ve had mind to listen
to the callings of
heart

I had time to ponder
I had time to rescue
I’ve had the time to think
about you

I have my mind
made up now

I’m gonna stay

I’m gonna stay
I’m gonna stay
with you
I’m gonna stay with you
I will mind my own store
I will keep myself happy, busy for
as long as you need
I’ll take care of me
while I wait for you
I made up my mind

I’m gonna stay with you

3 thoughts on “It’s My Anniversary”

Leave a Reply

